Flash From the Past

When I began buying rental properties in Indianapolis, cell phones weren’t common. Most people who needed to “be available” at the drop of a hat wore pagers.
All my tenants had my pager number, and contacted me that way when they had a repair or rent issue. There were days when I’d be working at one of my rentals,IMG_8989 and I’d get four or five pages in a four hour period. Here’s a sampling of how that would go:

  • My pager would start beeping while I was in the middle of a project at one of the rentals.
  • I’d put everything down, lock up, hop in my car and head for the closest pay phone.
  • After fishing in my purse for 50 cents, I’d put it in the slot. The pay phone would eat the money, but I wouldn’t get a ring tone. Dead.
  • On to the next closest pay phone.
  • Find another 50 cents, get out and realize the phone cord’s been ripped out.
  • On to the next closest pay phone.
  • Finally, one that works! But my tenant doesn’t pick up. Ugh ….

And imagine the hassle when it’s 10 degrees outside, or pouring down rain. What a blessing it was when I was able to lose the pager and rely on the cell phone. What a luxury to be able to stay put and keep working, while taking care of issues that might arise during the day!

Driving by this old pay phone took me back 15+ years and I just had to stop and take a look at it. Technology can be frustrating at times, but it certainly saves us time and energy.

Oh, and take a closer look at the picture … how about that doorway to nowhere on the second floor of the house in the background? LOL

 

Leave a Reply

