“Eureka” …. not.

Prior to reading this post, go back to my March 26th post titled “Eureka!” and read it, if you haven’t done so already.

She rented a cute upstairs unit from me, right behind her workplace at Popeyes Chicken.  No more two-hour walk home after work at midnight.  She was absolutely thrilled, and I was so happy for her.  She was paying on time, keeping the apartment spotlless … she took pride in her living space.

And then, she seemingly dropped off the face of the Earth.  No call, no rent.  Odd … through relatives, I learned she’d been hospitalized after her blood pressure sky-rocketed and she suffered a stroke.  After a week or two, she texted me and said she was so sorry … she’d be moving out, maybe going to IL to stay with her mom until she was capable of taking care of herself. I told her to take care of herself, to hang in there.

I went to her apartment yesterday, thinking she’d be gone.  There she was, sitting in the dorrway … a shell of the vibrant woman I’d rented to a couple short months earlier.  She was waiting for me, she said in very broken words, almost unintelligible, apologizing repeatedly.  Her mom couldn’t take care of her and she’s going to a county “home” in Morgan County.  “Don’t worry, it’ll be okay,.  You just need to take care of yourself.,” I tried to reassure her.  Tears rolled quietly down her face as she struggled to stand and grab my hand.  “You …. good.  You …. so good.”  I helped her back to the front door so she could look outside and enjoy the sunshine.

St. Vincent de Paul will be there Saturday to take her furniture before she leaves.  I’ll be there as well, to bid her farewell and tell her to stay in touch through texting.

Eureka’s been on my mind since I left her there in the doorway, slumped in her chair.  Life can change in the blink of an eye … this is an excellent reminder of that for all of us.  Stay in the day, make the most of it … none of us knows what tomorrow will bring.

Onward and upward …..

Leave a Reply

