Foolers …

I usually trust my “gut.”  Are you a good judge of people?  I like to think I am, but just when I’m feeling pretty good about that, a tenant comes along and totally fools me.  Trusting your gut is never good enough when you’re renting places to people.

That’s why you need to have applicants bring a copy of a paycheck stub with them, to submit with the application.  Recently, I decided to forego this requirement … I made an exception.  This couple was excellent.  But they forgot to bring the paycheck stubs.

I went with my gut, after verifying their work information and getting a recommendation from their supervisors.

To make a very long story short, I was soooo wrong!  They did nothing but gripe about small things after they moved in, and then didn’t quite get the full rent paid for June.  when I didn’t get July rent within the 5-day alotted time frame, I filed eviction.

They moved out before the court date (yay!) but stole the stove and range hood, refrigerator, and most of the window coverings (waaaahhh!).

Wish I’d gotten those work addresses, because of course, I don’t have a forwarding address.  And shame of me for being too trusting.  This attribute got me in a LOT of trouble early in my career, but rarely now.

Their court date is tomorrow, so I’ll go — they won’t — and I’ll file a writ and get another court date on which I can file for damages, which is the money they owe me and also the cost of the items they took.  I’m also filing a police report, so they’ll be in the criminal system.

Bottom line?  Always have your applicants provide documentation for their workplace.  And if they can’t or won’t, they’re probably scamming you.

Oh, and here’s a good one … this couple mentioned, in passing, that they’re Buddhists.  Whaaaat?  Isn’t the Dalai Lama Buddhist?  I thought they were supposedly kind, gentle souls.  Evidently, we should never generalize about any group.

Onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

