Before and After …

You gotta love Craig’s List … this little kitchen at my rental property needed a major facelift and I didn’t want to spend a ton of money at Lowe’s or Menards on new cabinets.  Here’s the before picture:

The cabinets had been in there forever so it was time to update.  After I got everything out it looked like this … there was old wallpaper behind everything!

So I found used replacements on Craig’s List.  For $450, I got cabinets, a counter top, sink and faucet, three ceiling fans and two light fixtures.  Very cool.  Here’s what it looked like when it was done.  A total transformation:

I was so thrilled with the outcome I decided to look for a small gas stove on Craig’s List as well.  They’re uncommon and very expensive to buy new, but I couldn’t fit a full-size one through the door of this apartment.  I found one and went to check it out.  The seller had it sitting out in his yard and it was rather dirty, but he said it worked very well.  And dirt has never scared me.  He also said he’d deliver it, so he brought it later that day and I paid him.  My handyman came over later and hooked it up, and it was then that we discovered it was a piece of junk that really just didn’t work well at all.  When I called the guy to suggest we return it and get my money back, he said we probably damaged it when we installed it and that’s why it didn’t work.  Ha!  What a joke — a bad joke, I might add.  I was forced to buy a new one, for $450.  Ugh.  Lesson learned: use Craig’s List, but make sure your product works before you pay for it!

I was way too trusting.  So I made money on the cabinets, counter top, etc. and lost money on the gas stove … sigh … onward and upward, right?

2 thoughts on “Before and After …

  1. Thanks for sharing your experiences. As a fellow landlady, who’s only been in the business a few years, I really appreciate reading and learning from your posts… even if it’s mistakes not to make! From Craigslist frauds to tenants who lie under oath, property owners need to know what to watch out for and how to protect themselves… too many good people leave the business because of a few bad tenants, which ends up hurting decent folks who want affordable housing with landlords who care enough to keep the place up.

    Like

    • You’re so right … burnout causes good people to leave this business. Thanks for reading my blog. I’ll try to continue to provide quality information that can help us all moving forward. Onward and upward!!! Here’s to your continued success.

      Like

Leave a Reply

