Painting Tips!

I could give seminars on painting.  Having been a landlord for over 17 years now, I’ve painted and repainted my rentals, and I’ve learned something new about the process every time.  I try to do things quickly and efficiently, and here are a few things I’d like to pass on to my readers:

  • Buy a high quality brush for trimming out around windows, baseboards and doorways.  My favorite is a Purdy or Wooster angled 2 1/2″ brush.  Trying to save money on a paint brush will result in frustration and a crappy paint job.
  • I NEVER use masking tape to help with the trimming out process.  It takes a lot of time to apply the tape.  If you have a steady hand, skip it!  Not necessary.
  • Buy a lightweight trim cup, so that you don’t have to carry a paint can around with you when you’re trimming out.  You can find a lightweight plastic one at your home improvement store for under $4.
  • For walls, use 3/8″ roller sleeves only on very smooth walls.  If the walls have a few defects in them, or if they’re patterned (like some ceilings) use a thicker sleeve, maybe 1/2″ or even 3/4″.  These will apply more paint and disguise defects.
  • If you’re doing the walls and trim in two different colors, paint the trim first, and let it come over onto the wall about a half inch or so.  Then, you can “cut in” the wall color last, butting it up to the trim color.
  • When you’re trimming out, don’t overload your brush!  If you do, you’ll get a ridge of paint on the edge you’re trimming.
  • When you’re rolling a wall, start in the middle and do floor-to-ceiling strokes (in a “W” pattern) with the roller.  Buy a lightweight aluminum handle that you can adjust/lengthen for higher ceilings.
  • If your paint job is going to last longer than one session, wrap your roller sleeve and paint brush in a plastic bag to save them for later or even overnight.  If the air doesn’t get to them, they’ll stay fresh for the next painting session.  Roller sleeves are very hard to clean when you’re done with the job.  I buy cheap ones — they work well — and throw them out when I’m done with the project.
  • Before recapping the paint can, make sure you run the paint brush around the groove that holds the lid in place.  This will assure a good seal when you recap the can.
  • I’m really picky about my paint brushes, since I buy really good ones.  To clean them well, I use a wire brush and run it down the spines of the brush to get all the paint out.  I also tamp the brush hard on the base of the sink to get the paint out of the inside of the brush.  The cardboard container the brush comes in usually wears out, so when it does, I wrap the damp, clean brush in a paper towel so that it doesn’t lose its shape or have any bristles that go awry.

Hope this has been helpful … and here’s to your next paint job!   🙂

4 thoughts on “Painting Tips!

  1. Pingback: Home Interior Painting 101

  2. Pingback: Home Interior Painting 101

  3. I have had several people paint for me in my business. It’s always frustrating when they tell (yea I can paint) only to find they have NO idea how to paint. When they get to much paint on the brush when doing trim work, I call it pudding of paint. How much do you charge an hour? I think I could really use you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

