Bar Keepers Friend is My Friend

Comet, Ajax, Zud … these products have been around for a while.  Soft Scrub appeared much later.  But Bar Keepers Friend has been around since 1882!  It was invented by a chemist here in Indianapolis and has been going strong ever since.

I encounter some very nasty cleaning challenges in my rental properties, and I found this product was superior to all the other similar cleansers on the market.  I buy two or three containers at a time so my tool caddy will never be without it.

You can’t use it with a paper towel or wash cloth . . . you need to use one of those dark green scrubbers . . . I think they’re made by Scotch Brite.  For tub and shower floors, I use a scrub brush with this product.  But it does the work.  It removes hard water stains, soap scum and rust stains as well.  Sometimes I combine it with Krud Kutter, another one of my favorite cleaning products, which comes in a spray bottle.

Here’s the bottom line: when you own rental properties and do a lot of your own work, you want to accomplish things quickly.  So, I’ve done a lot of research and tried many products through the years.   Most of the products I use at my rentals can be found in my own house as well.

This blog is about sharing my wisdom with other investors, and I hope to save my readers time and money!  And Bar Keepers Friend is a little known product that can do just that . . .

Onward and upward!   🙂

One thought on “Bar Keepers Friend is My Friend

  1. Yes, I love Bar Keeper’s Friend!

    But I live in a mobile home that has plastic sinks and tubs in the bathrooms and am not able to use abrasive cleaners. We also have a well that leaves rust stains in our fixtures. I’ve found that The Works is the best thing for removing my rust and soap scum. You apply it full strength, let is sit for a moment and wipe it off. It’s safe for plastics, so that’s nice. There is usually no scrubbing if you use plenty of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

