Indiana Basketball!

This house is two doors down from one of my rentals, in a predominantly Hispanic neighborhood downtown.  But basketball is alive and well, even in the lower-income areas of the inner city.

“Basket” ball

The basket is a milk crate nailed to a piece of wood, attached to the siding.  Above it, they’ve rigged up a light so they can shoot baskets at night.

I own the house with the brown roof, and I had recently evicted my tenant, Yolanda, for nonpayment of rent.  I was out back, picking up trash, and I watched some young boys playing a pickup game for a few minutes.
When they finished and the alley got quiet I heard some crowing.  I couldn’t tell, at first, where it was coming from, but when the animal emitted a full blown “cocka-doodle-doo” I realized it was wedged in between my house and the neighbor’s, in this make-shift cage:
What??

The rooster eyed me suspiciously as I took his picture.  What was he doing here, in this tiny little house from hell?  I’ve seen lots of roosters lately, running loose in the neighborhoods.  I just don’t get it.  Anyway, I thought I’d include it here, as a little “slice of life” in the inner city.  I was born and raised in the city (Gary, IN) and never saw a rooster.  Funny how times change, huh?

2 thoughts on “Indiana Basketball!

  1. Barb, you are so right. When I (we) grew up in Glen Park in Gary, it really wasn’t the “inner city.” I miss that place and that time. All that said, Hobart is pretty cool. We are having a Christmas Open House at the Chamber of Commerce. I am listening to Christmas music as I type.

    God Bless,
    Mike Adams

    Like

    • How nice ….. yeah, Hobart has always been a very nice place. My mom grew up there, on Lake George, and we spent a lot of time there. Glad to hear it has held its own! Last time I cruised by my old house onW 47th Ave., it didn’t look too good! 😦
      Have a wonderful Christmas, Mike.

      Like

Leave a Reply

