‘Tis The Season . . .

As a former artist, I’m detail oriented and I totally enjoy seeing how people transform their homes around the  holidays, especially in the inner city where I have most of my rental properties.

It’s amazing how much can be done with how little money.  Many of the people who live in my nieghborhood have limited resources but unlimited imaginations and motivation.  Here’s an example that illustrates the above statement . . . it’s a duplex a few doors down from one of my triplexes.  Obviously, the tenants got together and coordinated this Halloween decorating project, right down to the stickers in the  windows.  This simple, happy display makes me smile every time I drive by and I just had to take a picture of it. 

Potted plants, and pumpkin, ghost and skeleton decorations dangling from the porch overhang . . . gotta love it!

And last year before Christmas I came across this little bungalow whose yard decorations totally overshadowed the house itself.  They were — literally — larger than life!  But the yard art drew a crowd every day and these proud homeowners loved it. 

I spend a lot of time in the inner city, and many of my tenants fall in the lower-income brackets.  And through the years, I’ve come to appreciate the simplicity with which many of them view this world.  And for that, they’re able to live with more peace and contentment than their wealthier counterparts; they appreciate small daily joys and delights that are there for the taking.  There’s a lesson in that for all of us . . .

Happy holidays . . . count your blessings . . .

Leave a Reply

